A large sundial, dated at three thousand years old, used to be a major tourist attraction. However, the number of people buying tickets to see it has dropped 20% over the last year. Clearly, the government will provide financial and marketing assistance to the trust responsible for this historical treasure. The money will be put to good use, as the trust is a non-governmental, not-for-profit organization. People thinking of starting a new business would do well to pick a location close to the sundial, which will certainly attract more tourists this time next year.

The argument is based on the fact that there has been a decrease in the number of tickets bought from the last year, by 20%. In response to that, they assume that the government would provide the trust fund responsible for this historical treasure would be provided financial and marketing aid. It suggests, people who are going to start a business would be benefited from this if they choose a place closer to the sundial, which would elude more tourists to visit this place. I find many unstated facts and optimistic assumptions took up by the argument, which makes me skeptical of the stand taken by the argument.

Firstly, there had been a decrease of the number of tickets bought to see it. This is a circumstantial claim which assumes that people did not visit the sundial, fails to consider that people would visit nearby attractions. They might also be tourists who had already visited said sundial and might not be interested in seeing it again, loosing interest in watching the sundial.

Secondly, the argument assumes that government would help make the trust fund responsible for the maintenance of the sundial, which might not be accurate in this case, as thee government of a particular state or country might not be interested in preserving the historical monuments, rather, use it to acquire grants of better social facilities and other projects. It doe not deem necessary to fund the trust fund, which would be well backed by their own board chairmen and donations from people.

Finally, while the argument's stand of businesses would be better to find a location close by to the attraction, it does not necessarily specify how effective these businesses would do from a statistical viewpoint. In a recent survey, tourists revealed that they would be less likely to buy something from a store closer to a tourist attraction than at a local shop, reason being the fear of spending more money then necessary for the item that they bought. The businesses that would open might also be prone to huge competition around the sundial. They would also need to come up with an effective marketing strategy to make sure their incomes are sustainable.

As the argument has neither been statistically informative nor aesthetically sound, the argument fails to make its point a strong stand against critiques which would deface the argument and its stand. It would be more convincing if it had stated more facts and evidences related to other such tourist places which had undergone the same problems.