The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base

due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean,

a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books

should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national

census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's

books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase

profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications

are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The reasons provided by the author of this memo is taking his stand that due to the decrease in the population of children below the age 10, sales of children's books would decline,. It would benefit them to open a cafe in it's place to increase it's sales. I think the stand made by the author has some merit to his reasons of stating why.

Firstly, he has viewed a competitive store opening in CollegeVille, which would dramatically increase the competitive sales of books and also attract more customers than Monarch book shop which currently lacks a cafe. This also is likely to happen due to the commonplace nature of the book store which might have been in CollegeVille for a longer time. People would get attracted by the shiny-new nature of Book and Bean store making the sales of Monarch books to drop down.

Secondly, from a pure statistical view, due to the rate of children under age ten is declining, there appears a motive for the business to shift towards a customer-centered model where the stores sells what the customer needs. People are more likely to visit a place if there is an it element. The cafe which would replace the children book section would most likely benefit the store as it woos more people into buying more than just a cup of coffee.

Thirdly, when there is competition nearby, it almost always benefits to improve upon the material that we have. As the competition has decided to open a store where citizens could go to a book store not only to buy a book but also find them-self to a coffee or a snack might give them more incentive to go to the other place, rather than a store which has been around for months, if not years.

Lastly, the person in this recommendation is right in thinking that implementing a cafe element to his book shop by replacing the children's books section could bring in more profits and reduce the competition from the other book store. He now has a business model to increase his profits for the book place and also make it more appealing for the citizens.

In summary, most of the points made by the person in the recommendation are valid to a point which would make his proposal plausible. He states many points which would make his stand in recommending an in-house cafe a viable idea.