The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Based on the observation of past one year, in which the Grandview Symphony was able to attract double audience than normal and also enhanced private contribution, the author concludes that it no longer requires the funding from the city government, which was actually a major source of funding since its inception ten years ago. Had the author elucidated the premises with supporting evidence, the conclusion would have been plausible enough. However, as it stands now, the author must buttress his conclusion with following three pieces of evidence before gauzing its credibility.

First of all, Would the symphony succeed perpetually, if the newly hired internationally known conductor were to terminate contract in near future? The author mentions very little about the tenure and contract agreement of the newly hired conductor who apparently helped to increase the occupancy of concert-in-the-park series. It might be one undesirable situation if the Grandview Symphony decide to discontinue the funding from the government, and shortly loses its new conductor and added private contribution. As inferred in the memo, the government funding had been a major clog for sustainability of the Grandview Symphony since last 10 years and it would not be wise to abruptly counting it out without concrete evidence of durability of new change, in this case, persistance of new conductor and assurance of continued private contribution.

Moreover, the author seems to skip the part where the viability of ticket sales on higher price need to be assessed before making such a huge decision of discontinuing a primary source of fund. The possibility of people not opting to buy ticket at higher price can not be ruled out. Possibly, the private contribution which seems to have increased over last year might reduce as well, following the declination in number of audience. This would be a detrimental outcome for the Grandview Symphony team.

Finally, the conclusion seems hasty and rushed because of its inference based on the observation of a mere single year. Had the author provided evidence regarding the assurance of similar number of audience in following years too, that would have strengthen the recommendation. But, logically, it would take analysis of various other factors to predict the number of audience in following years, and without proper historical data to extrapolate, the author seems to fall short of options to justify the plausibility of his inference.

To conclude, the author in his memo draws an inference, albeit a seemingly premature one, based on some weak assumptions and observations over last year. To ensure that the Grandview Symphony will not suffer in future with implementation of hasty recommendations, the author must provide above mentioned pieces of evidence to strength his poin