The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, The author argues that the Grandview Symphony was successful financially last year, the city government should not provide funding for the symphony. This memo seems to be plausible at first glance. However, the lack of specific evidence and critical information leads me to question the validity of this memo.

First, the author asserts that the new conductor who is internationally known can help to attract high-profile guest musicians. However, he does not provide any specific case about this. For example, he did not state the real names or the number of great guest musicians invited to the symphony after hiring the new conductor. To bolster his argument, the author needs to present the data about these.

Second, the author argues that the private contributions to the symphony have increased after hiring the new conductor. But there is no evidence of causal relationships between the private contributions and the new conductor. This increased private contributions might have been an aberration of last year caused by the economic boom of that area. In addition, if the initial contributions were a small total amount, the doubled contribution would not be enough compared to total annual funding from the city government.

In addition, the author stated the success of the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series. However, it could be possible that this success is an extraordinary case in the history of the symphony. Nobody could ensure the long-term success of the symphony based on this only one case. The author's opinion seems to make a hasty generalization. To validate the author's assertion, He has to show more long-term data about the attendance at the symphony's other concert except for the concerts-in-the-park series.

Lastly, the author claims that the symphony will succeed without the city government because the symphony can raise ticket prices. However, he did not present the exact ticket prices. If the rate of increase is negligible, it might not help to maintain the symphony substantially. In addition, if the revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices are too small compared to the total required budget of the symphony, the symphony would still need funding from the city government.

In conclusion, the author's argument has many flaws in the logic. To strengthen his assertion, he should provide more specific evidence such as the exact ticket price and revenue of the symphony, the total amount of annual funding from the city government, and some cases of attracting high-profile guests invited by the new conductor.