The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article, stating several data about the jazz fans in Monroe, the author argues that opening a jazz club would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Although it seems plausible at first glance, the lack of evidence and the logical flaws lead me to question the validity of his argument.

First of all, the author stated another jazz club is 65miles away. But, this distance may not be a problem for some fans who enjoy jazz performances. For instance, there would be some convenient and fast transportation system such as a high-speed railway or express bus, which can help the jazz fans to move to the previous nearest jazz club. If so, it is possible that people in Monroe already have been visiting the jazz club that is 65miles away. Therefore, to validate his argument, the author needs to provide more evidence about the transportation systems between the cities.

Second, in the article, the author assumes that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe. And he quoted the number of people who attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer to argue his claim. However, this data is not enough to evaluate the popularity of jazz in Monroe. For example, famous guest artists might participate in the festival exceptionally last summer, or there might be many promotions for participants of the festival. In this case, the number of audiences of the festival last summer could be an aberration. To bolster his claim, the author should present more long-term data about the number of participants of the festival.

Third, the author argues that jazz is very popular in this region since several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe. However, there is no relationship between the two facts. For instance, the jazz musicians may live in Monroe since the city has convenient transportations or affordable living costs than other cities. To strengthen his opinion, the author has to show more convincing evidence that jazz is popular in Monroe.

Lastly, quoting a nationwide study, the author assumes that jazz fans in Monroe will pay the same amount of money for jazz entertainment. However, he ignores the discrepancy between the nationwide jazz fans and the local jazz fans. Even though the typical jazz fan in other regions spends much money on jazz entertainment, the local jazz fans would not have willing to pay for that kind of entertainment. For example, jazz fans in Monroe may prefer to listen to radio programs like 'Jazz Nightly' than buying jazz albums or joining the live jazz club. If so, the author's claim that a new jazz club would be highly profitable is not convincing. In addition, the author argues that the new business that opens a new jazz club is highly profitable in Monroe. Even if his thought is reasonable currently, other investors also may have the same idea. In this case, C-Note would not have the local market all to itself in the future. To ensure the author's opinion, it could be helpful carrying some surveys about the market circumstances and characteristics of customers in Monroe.

In conclusion, the author's argument has many flaws and not enough evidence. To bolster his opinion, the author should provide more evidence about the other possible competitors in Monroe, long-term data of annual festival participants, and the precise evaluation that includes benefit-cost analysis.