According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this article, quoting a recent report, the author argues that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's to reduce cheating among students. Although this claim seems convincing at first glance, many wrong assumptions and lack of evidence lead me to question the validity of his opinion.

First of all, the author assumes that Groventon's honor code that students report a suspect student who is cheating has a significant effect on decreasing cheating among students. However, the relationship between adopting the new policy and the cheating reduction is not clear in this argument. There could be other factors affecting the changes in cheating behavior of students in college. For example, since more students understand the negative aspect of cheating and social justice, many students might quit cheating in their college life by the time. In this case, the cheating reduction may not be the direct result of the honor code, so the author's assumption can be wrong. To bolster his claim, the author needs to show the exact relationships between the policy and the effect.

Second, according to the report, the number of cheating before adopting the honor code was reported by the teacher, and the number of cheating in a recent report was reported by the students. This fact informs that the author's assertion could have a flaw in the correctness of the data about cheating. For instance, the teacher could find more cheating in college since they could monitor the students more closely in the past. But now, the honor code replaced the monitoring system to notifying by the student when they witness the cheating of other students. So, the decreased number of cheating is not an effect of the new policy, just a side effect that most of the students do not report the cheating behavior of other students than before. Therefore, to validate his opinion, the author should provide more precise data based on the same survey criteria.

Lastly, the author ignores the discrepancy in circumstances of various colleges and universities. No policy can implement in all different places. Since every college and university has its own culture about academic life and education, even if the colleges adopt the same policy, the effect of the policy could be quite different in many aspects. For example, other colleges already may have fewer cases of cheating than Groveton College. In this case, the honor code would not affect the enhancement in cheating in the college. To strengthen his argument, the author needs to provide information that includes each university's cultural and academic characteristics, the extent of the schools, and other aspects affecting cheating behavior.

In conclusion, this article has many flaws based on wrong assumptions and incorrect data. To implement the recommendation, the author should provide more information such as the relationship between the honor code and cheating, more accurate data about the number of cheating, and the similarity of colleges and universities.