The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author asserts that the Happy Pancake House has to replace butter with margarine to save the cost of its restaurants in the southeast and the northeast region since there were few complaints about the change of butter in the southwestern United States. Even though his opinion seems plausible at first glance, the wrong assumptions lead me to question the validity of this article.

First, according to the author’s memo, there was only 2 percent of complaints among the whole customers when the butter has been replaced by margarine in the restaurant through the southwestern United States. However, this does not mean other 98 percent of customers were satisfied with the change. There could be more customers who were unsatisfied with the change but did not report their complaints. To bolster his assertion, the author needs to provide a more precise and detailed survey that helps to understand the whole customer’s opinion.

Second, the author concluded that the customers could not distinguish between butter and margarine since the customers did not present their complaints to the servers. But this is a too hasty generalization. Despite the customers that served the pancake with margarine perceived the difference in the taste, they did not report their complaints. However, they may decide not to revisit the pancake restaurant since they were not satisfied with the quality of the pancake. If the author gives more convincing evidence that the customers did not know the difference between butter and margarine, this memo would be more persuasive.

In addition, the author assumes that the price of butter is higher than margarine. So he believes that the replacement of butter with margarine will be more profitable to the restaurant. However, he did not present the price of butter and margarine at all in this memorandum. So we cannot analyze the benefit of the change with the information provided by him. To validate his argument, the author has to show the price of butter and margarine in this memo.

Finally, the author believes that the change will be effective in other regions in the United States like the southeast or the northeast area. But a more detailed survey that includes the market trend and the characteristics of customers in those regions is needed to support the author’s assertion. The reaction to the change would be different in the southwestern and other areas. If the customers in those regions have fine-tuned taste about food, they may perceive the changes from butter to margarine.

In conclusion, this memo has many flaws in assumptions and a shortage of appropriate evidence and information to make the optimal decision that affects the restaurant’s sales and profit. Therefore, the author’s argument needs to provide more persuasive data about an additional survey about the customer’s complaints, the price of butter and margarine, and a more detailed analysis of the cost-benefit of the new change.