The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the author argues that his company should contract with Buzzoff for all their pest control services since his company discovered that more food in the warehouse managed by Fly-Away Pest Control Company was destroyed by pest damage. This claim seems convincing at first glance. However, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity of his argument.

First of all, to evaluate the exact rate of pest damage, we need to know the total amount of two warehouses. Even though $20,000 worth of food in Palm City was destroyed last month, if the whole worth of food in Palm City is much higher than the worth of food in Wintervale, it may mean a lower rate of destroyed food. Specifically, if the warehouse in Palm City stores $400,000 of food and the warehouse in Wintervale stores only $100,000 of food, this presents that the food in the warehouse in Wintervale suffered a two-fold rate of pest damage last month. Therefore, to bolster his opinion, the author should provide the total amount of food in the two warehouses.

Second, in this memo, the author uses limited data for one month to claim his opinion. However, one month might be not enough period to evaluate the performance of Fly-Away Pest Control Company. In many cases, the new contractor requires some adaptation periods to manage the new facility. If Fly-Away Pest Control Company has more time to stabilize their service to prevent pests in the warehouse, they may show more improved performance in their job. To support his argument, the author should collect more long-term data about the two company's pest damage records.

In addition, the author does not provide any information about the environment like climate, age of facilities, and kinds of food of the two warehouses. These make the argument weak critically since these factors might affect the rate of pest damage in the warehouse. For instance, generally, air temperature is a crucial factor for pest abundance in warehouses. If the average temperature of Palm City is much higher than the Wintervale, the food could be damaged by pests more frequently. Furthermore, if the warehouse in Palm City is older than the warehouse in Wintervale and the facilities do not include state-of-art technology, these also can affect pest damage. Therefore, the author should show evidence about the environmental factors of two warehouses to strengthen his claim.

Lastly, we can not check the exact price of pest control services by the two companies in this argument. Even if the Fly-Away Pest Control Company shows more pest damage in the warehouse than Buzzoff, if the price of service of them is much lower than the Buzzoff, we may save more money by contracting with Fly-Away Pest Control Company. To clear these flaws, the author should provide precise information about the service price of the two companies.

In conclusion, this memo has many unconvincing assumptions and has not enough specific evidence. To strengthen the argument, the author should present more evidence like the exact extent of the food in the two warehouses, the environmental information of the warehouses, and the price of service of the two companies.