The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the author argues that the radio station should switch to its program format from current rock music to a news and talk format to reverse a decline in listener numbers of WWAC radio stations. Although it seems plausible at first glance, the lack of evidence and wrong assumptions lead me to question the validity of the memo.

First of all, the author believes that the increase of new residents who were retired from their job might cause the decline of radio listeners in the area. Thus, he assumes that most of them prefer news and talk format to the current rock music format. However, there is not enough evidence to support his opinion in the memo. To ensure his claim, the author needs to provide a more precise result of investigation about the preference of new people moving here after their retirement. If he performs some surveys using well-organized questionnaires to know the taste of people living in the area, it can help understand the recent trend of the listeners.

Second, the author argues that a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music means limited interest in music. But this is too hasty a conclusion. Nowadays, there are many alternatives to listen to music such as mobile streaming platforms, the Internet browser, and other digital devices, so most people can enjoy the music not buying recorded albums. Therefore, the author should consider the circumstances that change rapidly and understand the state-of-art media trend that supplies music entertainment. To bolster his opinion, the author should show more convincing information about the relationship between the local sales of recorded music and the interest in music.

Lastly, the author ignores the change of music consumption patterns in modern society. As I stated above, nowadays, most people are listening to music using various digital devices. Therefore, the decline in listener numbers of WWAC is not a specific problem caused by the population growth of retired people or the decrease of interest in music. It would be a social phenomenon that shows the change of the whole society than the local area. If so, a change of the radio format may not affect reversing a decline in listener numbers in the area. To strengthen his assertion, the author gives a more broad investigation that includes the trends about the numbers of listeners in other regions.

In conclusion, the memo has many flaws and not enough evidence to implement. To support his opinion, the author needs to provide additional information such as the survey result to know the taste of people in the area, the relationship between the local sales of music and the interest in music, and more broad investigation about the trends in other regions.