The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this article, the author predicts that changing all the showerheads in the Sunside Towers apartment will increase the profits since they can save much water usage. Although his argument seems plausible at first glance, the lack of information and wrong assumptions lead me to question the validity of his argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the effect of changing the showerheads will be the same for all buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex. However, if the environment of the towers in the complex is different, this may not be true in all cases. For more specific, the water flow could be affected by water pressure and the height of the building. Even though there were no problems with the restriction of maximum water flow in the first three buildings, there could be a critical problem in the other towers that are higher than the first three towers. The taller height of the buildings means that it is more difficult for the water to reach that height. Therefore, some residents may experience not enough water flow when they want to take a shower. To bolster his assertion, the author needs to provide more detailed information about all of the buildings.

Second, the author states that he does not have the actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment. So all of the arguments in his memo are just guesses based on unchecked assumptions at this time. Nevertheless, the author argues that the change will save the money that pays for water usage. This fact makes his claim unconvincing inevitably. To ensure his claim, the author should show the actual data about water usage of the Sunnyside Towers complex after the change of the showerheads in the first three buildings.

Lastly, the author believes that the change of showerheads will increase their profits ever more dramatically. Generally, when we evaluate the profits of a certain kind of business, we need to consider all of the costs and benefits related to that business. But he does not provide the exact price of the water supply in the region. So we do not convince his claim based on the information that he stated in the memo. For example, if the price of the water is not a significant factor to maintain the complex, the saving of water would not affect the high increase of the profits of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex.

In conclusion, since this memo has many flaws and wrong predictions, the author's argument is not plausible. To strengthen his argument, the author should provide additional information such as the specifications of the buildings, actual water usage data of the first three buildings, and the price of the water in that regions.