Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether the students in the universities should take various courses outside their field of study or not is a contentious issue in education. Although some people the purpose of education is to provide professional experiences and knowledge to earn a better job for the students, others believe that the ultimate goal of advanced education is to make well-rounded and knowledgeable individuals. Both of these two different views dealing with education have benefits and limitations. Nevertheless, I would like to say that the university should provide a variety of opportunities for their student to achieve the goal of education because of the reasons in the following essay.

First of all, in modern society, many types of research are usually based on interdisciplinary knowledge to solve current complex problems that include global-scale challenges such as climate change and global warming. To deal with these issues, the student should have multidisciplinary knowledge such as mathematics, physics, chemistry, atmosphere sciences, and engineering. When a student who has only limited knowledge in his field of study faces a problem such as climate change, he may be confused and feel chaotic. Because he would not contribute any significant roles in solving the problem. As I mentioned above, understanding other fields and having various experiences is a very important ability in modern society, and taking some courses outside their major could give a good opportunity to enhance the student's capacities.

Second, taking a variety of courses would broaden the student's perspectives to perceive the complex world. Each academic theories and principles have specific logic to analyze the world or the society. Learning other field's courses can help the students have multiple tools to implement when they face complicated research topics. For instance, nowadays, programming skills and coding is not only academic subject for computer science but also a useful and required tool for many fields of study. Although artificial intelligence is based on theories of computer sciences, most science and engineering fields have been adopting it for decades to enhance their own research methodologies.

In conclusion, looking at all points mentioned above, providing a variety of courses for students has many advantages. By doing so, the students can have a deeper understanding of highly complicated issues in modern society, and the students can learn various tools to use in their job or research.