Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

After the industrial revolution, the human being has been bringing many adverse impacts on the global environment. As a result, many species were already distinct, and the number of endangered species is continuously increasing in modern society. In this situation, whether our society should make efforts to save all endangered species or focus on specific species affected by human activities is a contentious issue. Although there are many different opinions on this issue, I believe that our society should try to save all endangered species. I would like to present several reasons to support my claim in the following essay.

Admittedly, some people may think that it is a waste of money to save all endangered species. However, the ecosystem is a highly dependent and interconnected system. Each species cannot exist alone, and all species can affect each other. For example, when certain species are distinct, this may bring a colossal impact on the whole ecosystem in the region. If the species have a critical role that controls a complex food web, the distinction of the species causes unbalance of the food supply system in that region. As a result, more species would be disappeared. For these reasons, it is nearly impossible to distinguish between the result of human activities and natural phenomena. Therefore, society should take care of the ecosystem based on a total system perspective.

In addition, nowadays, the impact of human activities is too broad and enormous, so every species that lives on the earth could be affected by them. For instance, Climate change is an important problem in current society, and it causes many distinctions of species in the global environment. It changes the annual average temperature in the local habitat, and the fundamental productivity of the ecosystem in each region. Furthermore, it causes extreme heavy rainfall or drought in some regions. These impacts by Climate change will bring many distinctions of species and destroy the biodiversity around the world. To mitigate the impact, all societies and countries must participate in reducing the emission of carbon dioxide. By only doing so, we can protect endangered species from the detrimental effect of Climate change.

In conclusion, although some people might not agree with my idea, I think that we should take an action to protect all endangered species and our global environment. Because it is the most effective way to save endangered species.