The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The opponent have come to conclusion, that the symphony down not need funding from government any longer, since their are avalanche numbers of private contributions and the attendant of the symphony ha e double. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

First of all, what if the avalanche numbers of the private contributors for the symphony reduced? In other words are those private contributors going to find interest to continue contributing to the symphony? For instance if those private contributors came so much to the symphony just to look at whether the new guest invited will make a difference to the symphony, and after their first attendant decided to stop coming. If those contributors decided to stop coming that mean the symphony will still need the assistance of the government in funding it.

Secondly, will the guest that performed at the symphony continue to be present? In other words will be guest be always available to satisfy people of their requirement. For instance if the guest decided not to come to perform at the symphony, this propose to cause reduction in the private attendance and automatically negatively affected the private contribution. The absence of the guest or inability to satisfied the private contributors will affect the revenue of the symphony, and may caused them to be depending on the government for funding.

Thirdly, will the attendant at the symphony be stable at the doubled rate? For instance, if there are other interesting event, and they people unavoidably absent to give attendance to the symphony. If there are other guest performing in other places, and people find interest in attending, it will cause a drastic reduction of the attendant at the symphony and will affect the funding of the symphony.

In conclusion the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence(perhaps) in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to fund the symphony by the private contribution.