The following appeared in a memo to the board ofdirectors ofBargain Brand Cereals.

“One year ago we introduced our first productBargain Brand breakfast cereal.Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies.Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profitGiven our success in selling cereal we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible.

The director of Bargain Brand Cereals uses not numbers but ambiguous words to try to persuade the company to keep their low-price strategy and even expand the scale and insist on marketing other kinds of products with such strategy. While his argument's logic and deduction ostensibly seems to be plausible, some tiny ambiguities within his argument still can weaken his argument in general.

Firstly, by presenting their low prices drew many customers from the top-selling cereals, he assumes that their low-price strategy reaches two goals: making profits and hurting opponents. Pricing is a strategy widely used in marketing, by introducing lower prices, presumably could help Bargain Brand Cereal to attract more consumers, and it already did. But does it bring profit? When the cost of material and human resources surmounts the profit consisting of lower prices, it needs amount of consumers to complete its strategy. But the speaker does not present any information about it, so what we know is only that such strategy helps attracting some consumers, which is another variable cannot be defined. And, even though such strategy drew consumers from top company, it does not mean a big attack on the top company, which is already contains a big part of loyal consumer in society.

Secondly, as the speaker said, although the top company also react to fight back by reducing prices, they still have no need to increase their price. Here, the logic underlying is confusing, if top companies start to reduce prices too, it means the most important advantage--lower prices--is gradually diminishing. Thus the director should consider how to defend their advantage or hack another specific advantage, instead of eliminating the possibility of increase of prices.

Finally, in the last, a conclusion that given the successful investment they did so they should expand the scale and begin marketing other products, is suggested by the director. Even pretending all the arguments said by the speaker is right, it is unreasonable to expand their business and to begin new products. Because consumer drew from top companies are still a small part, for example, one percent of consumers having a basic number of one thousand is ten persons. If there is only one shop, you may find ten persons a not bad number, but if you own a chain store, such feeling will be gone. Therefore, without sufficient information and data, it is difficult to predict whether an expansion is a lucrative idea, much less begin new product research, which contains more vagaries.

In sum, the author's argument seemingly seems to be convincing, but when turn to another angle especially in specific statistical numbers, some drawbacks show up. To strengthen the original idea, it is beneficial and necessary to cite more objective statistics.