The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview."It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many ye

Here the argument states that the city of Grandview shall put a stop in providing funding to the Grandview Symphony Orchestra, and assumes that the symphony will see an upsurge in revenue in the upcoming years without getting any financial help from this particular city of Grandview due to the following facts: firstly, private sponsors to the orchestra augmented by 200 percent last year; secondly, the audiences of the orchestra doubled for the particular concerts-in-park series; finally, the orchestra has declared to enhance the cost of its tickets for the upcoming year. However, the entire argument is not cogent and has several flaws.

First of all, even though the number of private sponsors to the symphony has enhanced by 200 percent, there is no information given in the claim that whether these private sponsors will continue to contribute in future years as well. On the other hand, the claim has not mentioned that the private contributors from last year are still continuing to sponsor in this year or not. Moreover, actual number of sponsors are needed to evaluate this point. Percentages are not enough to have a thorough evaluation.

Secondly, the statement argues that the audience of concert-in-the-park series has increased by 100 percent, however, no information about the actual number of audience is given. It can an increase of one audience to an existing number of one audience, or even an increase of 50 audiences to an existing number of 50 audiences. Without information about the exact number people coming to watch the show, this point remains unconvincing.

All in all, the argument states that the symphony is about to enhance its ticket price for the coming year. Nevertheless, it has not stated the current ticket value and the extra amount to be added to the current value. This information is needed to avoid assumption and strengthen this point.

In conclusion, the statement could have been stronger if the discussed matters were revealed in it. Without answers to the mentioned facts, the statement seems more of a wishful thinking based simply on a couple of assumptions, and thus remains open to debate. Therefore, it cannot be said that the symphony is going to flourish in the coming years without economical help from the city of Grandview based on this argument.