The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this argument suggest that since the Grandview Symphony has been successful over last two years to perform high quality concerts, and to attract larger group of people during summer performances, they can deprive them from their financial support. However, the author has based his conclusion based on insufficiently supported evidences.

First, the author assumes that the symphony will keeps its fans in other seasons as well, and the revenue that the symphony may make form that suffices part of their expenses. However, High attendance in summer concerts might have been the result of larger number of foreign visitors of that city, and in other season they might not be as successful as they used to be in through summer performances. In addition, indoor performance impose higher expenses to the conductor as they need to perform for smaller number of groups and to provide extra facilities like ventilation system.

Furthermore, the author did not provide detailed information about the required fund for keeping the symphony running. If the revenue made from participants, and private fund only cover a small part of their expenses, then cutting the funding from the city surely cuts considerable part of their sources and they will fail to invite well-known musicians as they did over last two years. Thus, their fans definitely diminishes and they further lose this source of revenue as well.

Based on the highlighted flaws in the argument, the author has not been successful to make a persuasive case for cutting the fund. To strengthen his/her argument, the author would better provide the share of all contributors and a prediction regarding the interests of participants to attend in the future performances of the symphony in other locations and seasons.