Teachers’ salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Education and teaching are of the most demanding and valuable jobs in the word. We witness, once in a while, that teachers protest against low salary, while their role in preparing the next generation is invaluable. Meanwhile, some expert suggest that they should be paid based on the performance of their students. I personally believe, if the performance of teachers be evaluated based on a wide range of criteria to include different aspect of students’ academic performances this policy benefit students and teachers as well.

First and foremost important consequence of applying such policy is that not only less privileged students will be noticed, but also clever students are further supported to achieve better results. To illustrate it more, it should be recognized that clever students usually are self-motivated and require less support from their teacher, thus, with new policy, teachers will be encouraged to put effort to improve the academic performance of all students including clever ones. Therefore, all students receive sufficient attention from their teachers.

Furthermore, no one can deny the fact that a little bit sense of competition induces motivation, and teachers are not an exception. Teachers through working with this policy become more interested in novel teaching strategies that need to be employed for students with different learning capabilities. The more skilled the teacher, the deeper is his/her understanding of the need of their students. Therefore, along with their students, teachers try to utilize different methods to get to know their students and their need better. This attempt enhances their skills.

Nevertheless, the effort of a caring and patient teacher who induces motivation in a really weak and unnoticed student should not be remained unappreciated. Nor does their diligence in supporting really distinguished students to take part in national or international exams. Although, these students are rare and their performance does not greatly affect the average performance of a class, teachers with such endeavor should be truly honored even if the average performance of their student is not as much as their peers.

To summarize, well-defined criteria for evaluating the performance of education benefit both side of this sensitive relationship.