The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Different criteria have been proposed to measure the power of countries. While some of them are purely based on the welfare of its people, others put emphasis on economic, technological or cultural achievements. However. I believe the greatness of a nation is a combination of its achievements in different aspects.

Nowadays, to keep pace with unprecedented changes in the world, countries are required to develop in different areas homogeneously. As a salient example, even affluent countries like those located in the middle east that oil industry sufficiently support their expenses, are hugely investing in the new sources of energy like wind and solar power. Although their annual income surely suffices even their next 5 or 10 generations, they are trying to introduce their name as pioneers in technology among their rivals. To achieve this goal, highly qualified scientists and high level rulers play the vital role to, respectively, innovate and legislate appropriate rules. Therefore, futuristic scientists and rulers of that nation contribute to the success of their country in the global scale.

Equally important are other members of that nation. No one could deny the role that artists or teachers play in the development of a country. Not only do teachers prepare children for next generations, but also they convey the sense of patriotism that guarantee the unity of a country and enhances its value among other countries. Artist, though with different approach, revive the values of a country and even introduce them to other nations. Diverse in approach, all members of a nation contribute to the greatness of their country.

Nevertheless, all aforementioned aspects should eventually result in the welfare of the people of that nation. The quality of healthcare or education system of a country is highly correlated with the greatness of that country. However, this does not necessarily mean the greatness of a country is solely dependent on the welfare of country. Those countries that enjoy the support of its people in spite of economic or natural crises, are considered as the most powerful countries that are able to pass the crises and pave their way to success.

Therefore, the greatness of a nation is truly evaluated if its achievements in long- and short-term in different areas are taken into account, and the role of all members of that nation should not be condoned.