The following appeared in a memo from the chairperson of the school board in the town of Saluda.

"For the past five years, Mr. Charles Schade has been the music director at Steel City High School, and during that time the school band from Steel City High has won three regional band competitions. In addition, the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments at Steel City High has improved markedly over the past five years. Because of such successes at Steel City High, the Saluda school board should hire Mr. Schade to plan and direct the general music education programs for the entire Saluda school system."

In the proposal the author lists the remarkable feats that was supposedly achieved by mr. schade during the last five years as a music director. While these achievements as indeed praiseworthy, their correlation to mr. schade's ability should to be questioned and the author's suggestion of hiring him at Saluda school system further reviewed before decisions are taken.

In the author's eyes the first proof of mr. schade's competence is the awards won by the school band of steel city high. but this could also be attributed to a number of other factors including artistic local culture and high student quality. A comparison of mr. schade's tenure with his predecessors' is also lacking. As such, we have no means of knowing whether this particular school band is outperforming, maintaining or even falling from its previous standards. To boost the credibility of this proof, the author could include an account of steel city high's school band's past record, and show it is indeed for mr. schade's efforts and not other reasons that the band won all its awards.

As for the significant improvements in musical facilities at steel city high, the role mr. schade played here is also dubious. it is highly unlikely that he could have funded these projects himself. Therefore at best he could be credited for lobbying donners for their support, and at worst maybe he did not even participated in these matters. And even if he was indeed the main force behind these improvements, it is still questionable if he could repeat his success at saluba school system. donners he could reach may favor other investments and donations this time, and could also find it difficult to fund similar projects at such a short time interval.

last but not least, a brilliant and successful music teacher may simply not be the person saluba school systems need at the moment. A local school system only has a limited resource, and giving it to music may not be the best course of action. other spending could be more beneficial to the community, such as raising salaries for local teachers and improve the quality of STEM education. even within the liberal arts there could be choices to spend the council's precious money: some Latin or Greek teachers may be more welcomed by parents than a fancy music hall and a band.

To sum up, the proposal failed to establish a connection between steel city high band's success with mr. schade's efforts and capacity, and also did not take into account of the practical needs by saluba school systems. Without further evidence, it is then fair to say, this proposal is not sound enough to be taken too seriously.