If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

what the speaker is claiming is essentially that the ends justify the means in all circumstances. While I do acknowledge in certain regrettable situations this could be right, in general I believe the means must be restricted to avoid committing an even greater evil.

First, I do not want to exclude the possibility that in some cases the end is indeed worth all the wrongs made to attain it. this happens when the "good" side gets dragged into a bloody fight for life with its enemy, and for the sake of self-preservation, all means possible must be employed by the "good" side so that evil could not reign over all things. Of course this is an over-simplification, but the gist of the argument stands. In the course of the second world war, for instance, the allied forces had to bomb major German, Italian and Japanese cities to curb their productivity and spread fear, so that the war itself could be won. but since this is done to prevent genocides and despotic rules on a global scale, the evil can indeed be tolerated.

but in most cases where the survival of good and justice itself is not utterly threatened, fighting for a goal, not matter how noble, with no means of limits, is highly questionable. Just as Nietzsche says, stare at void for too long, and the void will stare back into you. In this endless pursuit for the good end, the people involved will lose their selves in all the wrong-doings, and end up becoming an evil themselves. indeed, many corrupt politicians went into politics to right what's wrong, and in this endeavor their true heart was devoured by the dirty practices they initially found themselves trapped in but later comfortable with.

Another reason why in general an end should not be pursued at all costs is that a sublime good to one group is not necessarily so to another, and what appears good now could be seen as pointless in the future. As the sphere of knowledge and perspective varies, the notion of good is altered too. As such, it seems rather naive to give up everything in exchange for a goal that might only be worth it to a certain group at present. genocide, as an obvious example, was widely accepted in some places in the early 20th century as a great good, and everyone alive now know what happened to this idea.

To sum up, what the speaker is proposing, despite more or less correct in a limited range of scenarios, is highly dangerous in general and should not be accepted as a universal canon: in the vast majority of cases, the cost of the means must be weighed against the good of the goal before a decision is made.