The following appeared in the memo from director of international students affair at Darrington college.

"To better serve the international students being admitted to Darrington college, we should build a new cafeteria for the students at subsidized rates.The current cafeteria is very old and serves only expensive items and dishes, a oint that will surely deter future international students from applying to Darrington college. Building a new cafeteria will prevent this from happening and will certainly lead to dramatic increase in popularity of college. Moreover a new cafeteria will help Darrington college to justify an increased budget for educational improvement this year.Building a new cafeteria will therefore be a great help towars enhancing the rank of Darrington college. "

The author of the given memo recommends that building a new cafeteria will increase the popularity of Darrington College and enhance the ranking of Darrington College. However, the director's argument does not seem well thought through and neglect several possibilities that could make building the new cafeteria a liability for the College.

Firstly, the author assumes that students prefer better cafeteria over a better education while choosing a college. According to author, a student will not prefer a good college which has good academics if the cafeteria in that college is old and expensive.This is not true. A student will always look for a good education first. The author also assumes that the foreign students will be poor and will not be able to afford the food in the cafeteria. Although, some students might be poor but not all can be poor. In case if many foreign students are poor then maybe they will not even buy food from new cafeteria.We need financial information about international students who studied in that college and also about the food quality of cafeteria.

Secondly, it might be also the case that cafeteria is old but its menu is eclectic and also the quality of food if very good and that's why it is in existence till now and foreign students will also like that cafeteria. The author also assumes that the popularity of the college is based on the cafeteria it posses. This assumption is wrong. A college's popularity is based on many things like the students, its professors, its labs, its results in various fields and also the education fees.

Lastly,the author has mentioned that new cafeteria will help to justify an increased budget for educational improvement. It is not correct to say this because cafeteria may or may not help in improvement. If at all the cafeteria attract more foreign student, it might happen that more number of student will hangout in cafeteria and bunk the classes.

Thus, there are many factors that determine the rank of college and cafeteria is not the only one.The director should not make any hasty decisions as it may prove to be waste of money for the college. The data about foreign entries and cafeteria should be thoroughly investigated before the director's recommendation is put into practice.