Environmental protection policies should not be applicable to corporations, which generate significant financial and economic growth, even if such growth may have a negative impact on the environment.

While I disagree with the proposal, it is necessary to weigh its pros and cons. We need to discuss some of the questions to understand the proposal like who is responsible for judging that economic growth is important or environment protect, what are the types of corporations that are generating significant financial growth and how much effect it is causing on the environment?

It must be a very educated and unbiased and experienced authority to decide the importance between environment protection and economic growth. If the corporation is ecofriendly that does not release any pollutants or harmful chemicals or non-biodegradable objects and uses renewable energy sources like the sun then harm it will cause to the environment will be very less. Whereas, if a company uses a large area of land and continuously releases toxins into the environment and uses a large amount of sources from the environment like trees and water then this company will cause great harm to the environment even after causing great financial success. So the type of corporation and resources it uses are an important factor to consider

Giving more importance to economic and financial growth than environmental protection has its own effects on everything in this world. Just increasing the economic growth and not caring of the environment will deplete many natural resources and will make lives of many animals vulnerable. We know how global warming due to pollution and the use of plastics have deteriorated the lives of many animals and marine life. If a country is highly developed but the environment is in very bad condition in that country then the development will not be of any use.

However, countries like India or underdeveloped countries who have sufficient supply of environment sources should focus more on its development and economic growth. It should not happen that foreign countries will use up all the resources of the underdeveloped country and its own condition is at very severe state. Here economic growth should be the first priority.

Hence, there are many factors that determine what should be given more importance but I disagree with the proposal as environment is very important for me in any case.