The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College, more new dormitories are needed to be built in order to serve the housing needs of the students because the enrollment is growing and new dormitories will attract more students. However, more evidence about the enrollment rate over the next 50 years, local rent fee around the college and the attraction for students to choose a college should be needed.

Firstly, the memo need gather more information about the enrollment trends. Even if this year, the enrollment is comparably larger than the past few years, this trend may not continue in the next few years, not to mention in the next five decades. Maybe this year, more student go to Buckingham College to study because the student that choice to continue their education in college reach to the peak point. And it's likely in the next year, the students' number will decrease in a national range. Hence without more evidence about the students number data, the author cannot conclude that this trend will continue in the next 50 years.

While the author argues that the average rent for an apartment is increasing, more evidence about the rent around Buckingham College is needed. The data of increasing rent may not comply the apartment near the college. Maybe living in an apartment near the scool is equal with that living in college dormitories or even cheaper. Considering the apartment will provide more private space and more comfortable than stay in the dorm room, student may choose to rent the apartment even if the fee is little higher. In order to support the claim that rent for apartment is increasing and student may choose a cheaper option, more informations need to be present in the argument.

Finally, while the author claims that attractive new dormitories will attract more students, more evidence is needed to evaluate the statement. The author make a causal relationship between the enrollment and the dormitories. There are likely lots of other scenarios. For example, student choose to study at Buckingham College because it has the best Computer Sceince School or maybe it provides students many opportunities to have intern in some big companies. Attractive dormitories are just part of the reason why students choose to study there. Without ruling out these possibilities, the proposal that new dormitories will appeal more students is not sound.

In conclusion, plenty of evidence should be provided in order to support the argument that Buckingham College should build more dormitories, otherwise, the argument is not strong.