The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the director of top dog pet stores argues that top dog pet stores should start placing its ads in exotic pets monthly for more sales. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the unwarranted assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

first, the director assumes that fish emporium has advertised in the magazine exotic pets monthly, so sales of their stores have increased. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. however, it is possible that sales increase is not due to the advertisement of the stores, but due to other conditions, such as a diversity of fish in their stores, expansion of the stores, and increasing interests of people for fish pet. therefore, advertising magazine is not the crucial reason of success of fish emporium.

Another assumption the director makes is that top dog pet stores should start placing its own ads in the magazine, because it is based in gulf city. The three fish emporium stores in gulf city saw an even greater increase than 15 percent. however, it is plausible that people in gulf city live near the ocean, so they are interested in fish for pet, not dog. even if they are interested in dog pet, exotic pets monthly might not be helpful for top dog pet stores, because dogs might not exotic pets. Readers of the magazine, even living in gulf city, actually might not be attracted to the advertisement in exotic pets monthly. Indeed, top dog pet stores does not need to start placing its ads in the magazine.

Lastly, that top dog pet stores should advertise in exotic pets monthly is based on the assumption that it will make more profit. The advertising may help increase the sales of the stores. however, expenses of advertising might be more significant than incomes. actually, expenses of ads may be substantial because the magazine may not be for gulf city, but for more district. therefore, it is likely that the sales from people in gulf city are more minute than expenses, and thus, the profit is marginal.

In brief, the director’s claim that top dog pet stores should start advertising in exotic pets monthly is unconvincing on many grounds. To bolster it, he needs to rethink his assumptions.