The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author, vice president of Sartorian's, a men's clothing manufacturing comapany, of the argument recommends that the company should restart the production of apaca overcoat (AO) whose production was stopped five years ago owing to the lack of reliable supplier of high quality wool fabric. To corroborate his argument, the author has cited the pieces of evidence that the company has a new fabric supplier as well as the increasing trend of clothing price. Although the conclusion is seemingly plausible, however, it is flawed with some unwarranted assumptions.

To begin, the author of the agrument assumes that the changes that can happen in a five years period is negligible and the things are as same they were as five years ago. However, this is not necessarily be true. For instance, the author cites an evidence that the AO had an customers' outcry five years ago, but there is reliability the demand is same as it was when the production was discontinued. Moreover, the president also includes that there was no competitor of the AO five years ago, however, after five years, there may be some other companies who also produce the AO. Therefore, unless providing the pieces of evidence to substantiate the assumption, the argument is vulnerable to criticism.

Aonther unstated assumption that the author makes is that the new supplier of wool fabric is reliable and it will supply high quality wool. But, there is no authentic information about whether the supplier is reliable and capable enough to supply the wool that Sartorian's requires. Perhaps the supplier can supply low quality wool so that the quality of the new produced AO can not be up to the level that the company as well as its customers requires. So, it is necessary to cite the evidence of reliability of the new supplier to strengthen the recommendation.

Thirdly, the author is dependent on the perception that there is a correlation between the upward trend of clothing prices as well as the recontinution of the production AO. However, to buttress the assumption there is additional evidence. Admittedly, the increasing price of clothing inspires the Sartorian's to produce AO, but, there is no authentic information about whether the price of AO, the price of all but a newly launch product, will also follow the same trend. Thus, in the absence of the proper evidence, the recommendation amounts a poor influence to resume the production of AO.

To sum up, the conclusion of the argument is flawed with a list number of unwarranted assumptions which are already discussed. To bolster the argument, the author needs to cite more authentic information to clarify the unstated assumptions. Otherwise, the argument will remain susceptible to debate.