The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memo provided by Sartonian, the vice president claims that his company should resume production of alpaca coats as its profits will augment. He bases this conclusion on the fact that he has a new fabric supplier, the response customers showed when the coat was discontinued, and that competitors have not taken over the alpaca coat market. However, this argument is riddled with assumptions which lead it to be a flawed conclusion. In order more effectively and clearly evaluate this memo, three questions should be analyzed.

First, the demand for alpaca coats in the present day needs to be compared with the demand five years ago. Whether or not it remains as high is a crucial question to understanding if Sartonian will truly profit from resuming production of alpaca coats. It is also valuable to know when and how this demand was surveyed. For example, had this been a questionnaire asked only to returning customers during the winter time, the results may have differed profoundly from asking the same question in the summertime. Perhaps fashion trends have evolved significantly, and alpaca coats are no longer of high demand. This could also account for why no competitors have a similar product. Further analyzing the demand and having a clearer understanding of how and when these measurements are taken may greatly help Sartonian make the right decision because they can understand their clientele’s needs and desires on a deeper level.

We are also given no information regarding the quality, efficiency, and general details of the new fabric supplier. Therefore, we must inquire to fully comprehend how similar the new alpaca coats will be compared to the former productions. Perhaps the new supplier has a lower quality wool. If customers were used to a superior wool, they may not readily settle for something of lower quality, especially if they particularly enjoyed the older style. To some, the principles of how a company obtains its wool is paramount. For instance, should a company use inhumane methods to produce wool for the coats, customers may be unwilling to support this company. It is important to ask about the fabric supplier, as its quality and methods may be important information to potential buyers of Sartonian coats.

Finally, we should examine prices. The vice president states that there has been an overall increase in clothing prices. This can affect their company of many levels, and they should take care to understand how the increase in price has affected customers. Perhaps they can reach out to customers to comprehend to what extent a price increase will affect their decisions of buying a coat or not. Supply and demand is a very fine and intricate topic, studied in depth to fully understand. To say that a high demand, even with significantly raised prices, will be benefical to Sartonian needs more evidence.

The argument provided is based on assumptions that may end up leading to results that are unexpected to the company. However, upon further investigation and research, it is possible to develop a more thorough and cogent understanding of the issue at hand. Surveying customers and conducting marketing research may help create this clearer understanding. Asking questions regarding fashion trends over the years, product quality of a new supplier, and price differences may lead the vice president to re-evaluate his statement and come to a more informed argument and decision, leading to increased success of Sartonian.