The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the vice president suggests that the food company should return to Buzzoff for all the pest control services according to his inferences. However, there are many flaws in the article before he jumps to the conclusion.

He mentions that over $20,000 worth of food under Fly-Away’s control had been destroyed by pest damage, while warehouse in Wintervale only lost $10,000. Before deciding to cancel the contract with Fly-Away, it needs the data of the weather condition between the two cities. If the average temperature in Palm City is rather higher than that of Wintervale and it rains frequently than Wintervale, then it has to list the average number of lost food because of pest. Under the certain standard, it may be fair to evaluate whether the company should sign all contracts with Buzzoff.

The food distribution company recently signed a contract with Buzzoff. Nevertheless, it doesn’t specify how long their contract has taken effect. Even though it has cooperated for half years, the vice president didn’t provide readers with each month’s data. It’s likely that Wintervale suffered from serious pest before Fly-Away dealt with it, and it continually lowers the number of food cost. On the other hand, it’s also likely that it only starts the work two months, and there are horrible pests which aren’t easy to be killed. In this case, Fly-Away needs time to set the equipment there and make sure it’s well-functioned.

At the end of the article, the vice president recommends that the company returning to Buzzoff for all services to save money. It doesn’t mention that how much the setting cost of two companies, so it’s too risky to make this conclusion. We need to know exact price of both services. Take the number of food cost caused by pest from memo, we still hypothesize $10,000 and $20,000 respectively. It’s possible that the efficiency of Buzzoff indeed better than Fly-Away, but the cost of Buzzoff is $50,000. To the food company, it spends $40,000 to deal with the thorny problem. On the contrary, it assumes that the cost of Fly-Away is only $20,000, then the expense is $30,000. In this big scope, it’s obvious that choosing Fly-Away can meet the goal of saving money.

To sum up, before deciding to return all money to Buzzoff, it still needs more evidence to support the idea.