The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc. "A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new DuraSocks every three months.

Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors.

These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that Dura-Socks can increase their profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process. To bolster the argument, the author applies a new study and a survey. However, it is still replete with a myriad of assumptions which could not suffice to back the argument.

Firstly, the author mentions a new study showing that their average customer actually purchase new socks every three months. The unstated assumption is that the reason why customers buy socks every three month is that they throw away their socks every three month, which is unwarranted. Perhaps the reason why consumers buy new socks is that the weather changes. For example, they but a pair of socks in September when the weather is warm, but after three months, the weather gets cold, and they have to but thicker socks to resist the cold. Therefore, to strengthen the study, the author should provide more information about the reason why people buy socks.

Secondly, the survey that demonstrates that their customers most value Dura-Socks’ stylish appearance and availability in many colors is unsubstantiated. The author assumes that their words are reliable and stank for all customers. Nevertheless, they may distort the actual condition and tell a lie to shine up the interviewer. It is very likely that other customers also like the appearance of the socks but value its high quality and endurability. Thus, without additional survey of actual replies from costumers, it is difficult to access the merit of the assumption that customers do not value endurance of their socks.

Thirdly, the assumption that they can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process is unjustifiable. Profitability is restricted by both revenue and expense. Without weighing the revenue against expense, it is unconvincing to indicate that the profit will increase. If customers are antagonized because of the decline of socks’ quality and decide not to purchase Dura-Socks anymore, the revenue of the company will drop dramatically, and although the expense is shrunk, the profit will not increase. In conclusion, in order to better validate the assumption, I would need more detailed information involving the net income of the company.

In a nutshell, the argument is weak as it relies on several unstated assumptions. If the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it could have been more logically acceptable.