The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo from the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing comes to a conclusion that they will reduce each of their three work shifts by one hour so that employees get more sleep thereby reducing the number of on-the-job accidents. They come to this conclusion as the nearby Panoply Industries plant has one hours less work shift and also experts suggesting that sleep and fatigue are the main causes of the accidents. However, there are some serious unstated assumptions behind the argument that need to answered.

First of all, The vice president has decided to reduce just three of the work shifts to one hour. Considering there are 5 working days, reducing the working hours for 3 days, still forces the workers to work for more time during the remaining 2 days. Wouldn’t the extra work in those two days cause more fatigue and sleep deprivation on the very next day of the work? Thus, increasing the chances of accidents. Also, for the 3 shifts with reduced one hour of work, it could also be that the workers now have to complete the same work in less amount time causing increased fatigue during the actual work hours and thus seriously risking not only efficiency of the work but also their lives. If the above does hold true then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the experts have said that fatigue and sleep are significantly contributing to the accidents. But what if there are other factors, especially the maladroitness of the workers that are causing more accidents. There is no authenticity behind the statement of experts. Wouldn’t the ineptness of a worker be riskier in the manufacturing plant during the operations? If for example, there is a certain way and set of instructions to be followed to store some hazardous materials and If the worker is even unable to do that, then that eventually causes danger to not only him but also the other workers in the plant as well. Even if the plant does manage to reduce the cause of fatigue and sleep by their conclusion, there is a still a big factor looming in the plant that can cause more accidents. If the above does hold merit, then the conclusion in the argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing plant is comparing the work done there to the work in Panoply Manufacturing plant. It could be that work in panoply plant isn’t as much as time constraining or physically draining than in Quiot, which could be the reason why Panoply workers have one hour less shift than Quiot. It could also be Panoply plant has different working than Quiot plant. For example, the Supervisors of Panoply plant might organise routine events or team building activities to boost the morale and team work between the workers which eventually contributes to increase work ethics and less accidents. If the above does hold true, the Quiot plant has to rethink that by changing just working hours will they be able to reduce the on-the-job accidents.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerable flawed due to its reliance on several unstated unassumptions. If the vice president is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic study), then it will be possible to fully validate the proposed recommendation to reduce the three working shift by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.