The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that shortening the work shift by one hour will reduce the number of on-job-accident is flawed because it is based on unwarranted assumption and vague evidences.

First, the author cites 30 percent more accident at Quiot manufacturing as compared to nearby Panoply plant as evidence to support his argument. However, the percent belies the true number of accidents happening. In case where the number of on-job accident happening at the Panoply industry is low, say 4 or 5, the 30 percent more accident in Quiot manufacutring does not reflect a significant change in number of accidents occuring at Quiot Manufatcutring. Consequently, more number of accident happening at Quiot Manufacturin can not be imputed to the lack of sleep or fatigue as stated by the author and the author's argument falls apart.

Second, It is being assumed by the author that the only cause of accident is lack of sleep and fatigue. There could be many other factors responsible for increase in the number of accidents. For instance, it might be that QUiot manufacturing has more faulty equipment than panoplay plant and as a result has more on-job accident. Since the author provides to fail the concrete evidence of causes of more on-job accident, the argument fails.

Third, the author assumes that the nature of work at the Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Plant is identical. However, provides no evidence in support of the same. It might be that worker at Panoply Plant spend most of their time seating in front of computer and the process of whatever product they manufactue is automated. Conversely, it might be that workers in Quiot Manufacturing deal with wieldy and ponderous thing and thus, are more succesptible to the on-job accident. Since author fails to provide any evidence to prove that nature of work at quiot manufacturing and panoply plant is identical, reducing the shift hours will not reduce the number of on-job accident.

Finally, the author assumes when working shift is reduced,worker will necessarily use it to take more sleep. It could be that they may use this extra time to do other chores instead of sleeping. And the number of on-job accident remains same if reduced sleep is actually one of the causes.

In Conclusion, reducing the work hours will not reduce the number of on-job accident because the argument is based on the flawed assumption and thus, falls apart.