The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author cites fewer complaints in terms of percentage to argue that replacement of the Butter with Margarine has had little impact on their customers. The percentage howver, belies the true number of customers complaining. Also, the author then goes on to propose the explanation for the fewer compaints as lack of cutomer's knowledege to distinguish between the butter and margarine. However, fails to provide any concrete evidence to support his explantion. One of the explanation provided by the manager is that customers use the term butter and margarine interchangably to refer to the margarine only and again provides no evidence for the proposed explanation. The proposed explanation of the manager could be strengthened by conducting a thorough survey consisting of large enough sample size to support his proposed explanation.

First,ccording to the manager the less people are complaining because customers do not know the difference between margarine and the butter. However, it might be possible that those who do not complain prefer margarine to the butter. These customers mostly eat margarine at their home and thus, like it very much when they find it in the Happy Cake house restaurant too.

Second. it might be that the Happy Pancake House is present at the remote location and the most people who stop at the the restaurant fot repast are the travellers. Since they are left with no choice, they settle for what they are getting to eat, be it the margarine or the butter and hence, do not complain. It is equally probable that the margarine is cheaper than butter and as a result the cost of meal is less when margarine is served in the meal instead of the buttter. Consequently, people do not compalain because they get to eat the food at the cheaper price.

Third, Majority of the customers eating in Happy Pancake HOuse restaurant prefer margarin because of the health benifits it has as compared to the butter. Conversely, it ould be that their doctor has prohibited somethem to eat butter and instead they eat margarine out of health concern. It could be that the customer service at the Happy pancake house reastaurant is worst and therefore, fewer people complain since they assume that those in the customer service are unlikely to change their behavior.

Finally, the motive of the manager is unclear behind promoting the use of margarin. It could be that the manager has secretly sealed the deal with supplier of the margarine without the knnowledge of the owner and is getting commision for using margarine instead of the butter. Or it might be possible that Margarine is cheaper than the butter and hence, in order to increase the profit by piching on the expense of butter, the manager is trying to promote the usage of margarine.

In conclusion, the corelation between replacemnet of margarine with butter and fewer complain is weak.