The following appeared in a memo written by the head of the Gorham School.

"Our school cafeteria should make changes in the lunches that it serves in order to improve the health of our students. Several teachers and I have observed that students who eat these meals tend to eat the main course and the dessert, but seldom finish the vegetable portion. This pattern means that students are missing the vital nutritional benefits of fruits and vegetables, which are typically rich in vitamins and minerals. Therefore, the school cafeteria should serve larger fruit and vegetable portions along with smaller main course and dessert portions. This change will be effective because, according to research conducted at the Rose Children's Hospital, children eat the same amount of food served to them - about 55 percent, on average - no matter what the main course is."

The memo to Gorham School highlights certain assumption to recommend a change in ‘lunch’ served at school cafeteria.

The author concludes that doing so would improve the health of students. The reasons for his suggestion being that teachers and students of the school have often been observed leaving behind the ‘vegetable portion’ served as part of lunch. And therefore replacing these with larger fruit and vegetable portion and decreasing the main portion would work as the research conducted at the Rose Children's Hospital, ‘no matter what is being served children tend to eat 55% of their meal’. As it stands, the argument is unconvincing in several respects as the assumptions made by the author fail to lend any support to the recommendation made.

Firstly the observation that students and teachers leave behind the vegetable portions (served in meals) doesn’t imply that they actually don’t like eating vegetables. The author hasn’t mentioned anything about the taste of the food that is being served. May be main dish and dessert taste better that the vegetable portion or might be vegetables portions served at school lack taste or savor. Before drawing a conclusion it is necessary to get a feedback from students and teachers regarding the food made in cafeteria and also enquiring the reason for them to avoid vegetable portion. This would give better insight as to what are the real reasons for the condition.

Secondly the author assumes that decreasing the portion of main dish, dessert and increasing vegetables and fruits would compel them to eat vegetable portion. Further to bolster this assumption he takes aid of the research conducted at Rose Children’s hospital which noted that no matter what is being served children tend to eat 55% of their meal. There is no mention about the status of health conditions of children on whom the survey was conducted. Assuming the recommendation would give similar result in Gorham is unfair. It is highly likely that children at school would continue to eat main dish and dessert only and now since the quantity has been decreased it might result in weakening the students.

In conclusion, it can be noted that none of the assumptions presented by the author has succeeded in substantiating the recommendation. If a feedback was taken from the people having meals at cafeteria then it would have been helpful to determine the actual reason behind not eating vegetables. From that more appropriate steps could have been taken. Also more detail regarding the survey would have been appreciated as this would aid in determining if the results applied to students at Gorham School as well. Without these the recommendation made in the memo doesn’t appear cogent.