Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study

A university plays a crucial role in shaping student’s future. Apart from making a student ‘employable’, a university must also make them educated and train them with all ‘life-skills’. A holistic knowledge from varied fields is what one needs to survive this competitive world.

It certainly is a very fetching idea to let students opt for courses outside their arena or field of study. This would increase their exposure to different fields, would pave way to expanding of thought process, identifying common roots or connections between subjects that are entirely different therefore resulting into new innovations. For instance the coining of ‘Mechatronics’ course: It came into existence recently, it’s a combination of subjects from ‘Mechanics’ and ‘Electronics’ (which have nothing in common between them) offered as a single course now. This has proved to be very advantageous and is leading to new innovations in the market.

Moreover, being subjected to a variety of different courses helps us to discover some hidden passion, adapt new hobbies and tumble upon a new ‘idea’ (concept) that might fetch fortune into our world. Not everyone is fortunate enough to recognize ‘what they really want to become’. Had Steve jobs taken his grad classes seriously and never skipped his classes to attend calligraphy course (which wasn’t part of his course), he wouldn’t have made ‘Apple’ products so special.

Yet we cannot rule out the possibility that at times, taking up other courses outside our majors might be stressful. In universities we have examinations to evaluate our knowledge/learning; if a science major student is forced to take up history classes, he might have to spend extra hours learning them to clear his exams. Thus he would have to compromise the ‘time’ he dedicates to his majors, thereby becoming jack of all and master of none.

In sum, I concur that if ‘choosing courses outside student’s field of study’ is kept optional then it would certainly be beneficial to students. But if it is mandated then it might prove to be a bane to them.