The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

This is a moot issue. We have to take dialectics and multiple perspectives to examine the pros and cons.

Like every coin has two sides, this statement as well has two perspectives. Consider our works always receive praises and our negative works are overlooked: Albeit it is true that when our actions are appreciated, we feel more motivated and enthusiastic about that work and therefore showcase more alacrity in doing that work. But if our actions continue to be applauded every time, at one point we would reach a stage where we would take ‘appreciations’ for granted and stop putting effort on it. In other words, when appreciation is all we receive we tend to get laid back, consider ourselves flawless and show no inclination towards learning or improving our actions.

Now ponder on the case where our negative actions alone are being highlighted and our positive actions are being ignored. Here we tend to grow depressed and demotivated as irrespective of what we do, only the bad part captures the attention. Thereby we give up, lose self-confidence and convince ourselves that we are losers.

A wise man said, ‘Anything in excess is a poison’. So is it with teaching practices where you either are appreciated or criticized.

The best teaching practice would be when there is a balance between both applause and criticism. A person’s positive actions should be praised as this would boost their self-confidence and keep them pumped up to deliver their best under every circumstance. Equally the negative action of a person has to be pin-pointed so that they can learn from them and work towards rectifying them. This would help them ‘grow’ as a person and aid in accelerating their quality of work

The statement makes a sweeping generalization. Though true at times but not always. In a long run a balance in appreciation and criticism is all one needs to learn and flourish in life.