The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The KNOW radio station is looking into the decision to switch their programming from rock-and-roll music to continuous news format. The reasons for the potential changes included an increased number of the population in their area being over fifty years old, decreases in sales of recorded music in their area and neighboring cities having successful continuous new sations. There are a couple of assumptions that this argument depends on for validility and accuracy.

The first assumption of this argument is that older listeners are more likely to listen to a continuous new program compared to rock-and-roll music. The argument depends on this assumption. The reason for the argument to depend on this assumption since the radio station is looking to attract and keep the older people since the percentage of older people listening has gone up in the area while total number of listeners has decreased. If this assumption where proven false, then the argument would fall apart since the evidence given would not support the argument anymore. If older people did not prefer to listen to a station with continuous news, then the radio station should not change its programming to continuous news.

The next assumption of this argument is that the increases in older people has lead to the decrease in sales of recorded music. This key to the argument since the radio station is looking to go away from musical programming. If this assumption was true, then the argument would be buttressed by this correlation. However, if the decrease in sales of music in the area was not associated with an increase in older people, then the argument would suffer since it would not give a good reason for the radio station to switch to a news format. The decrease in sales of recorded music could be a result of many things such as decreases in income in the area or lack of quality music during a given time period.

The final assumption in this argument is that the current listening area have similiar preferences as the towns neighbooring do. This key since the author cites the popularility of continuous news programs on the radio in the neighboring towns. This would help the argument since it would give the programmers places to compare to if they chose to change their programming. This would given them clarity on the numbers of listeners that they could expect to have. However, if the neighboring towns were not similiar to the current listening area, then the argument would lose this point of their argument. This would create uncertianity for the radio programmers since they would have nowhere to look at the effect of having a continuous news radio station in their area.