The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum from the general manager of the KNOW radio station, the author concludes that, KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll to a continuous news format, and as a result, will attract older listeners and secure its future. However, the author supports his conclusions with three assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that a decrease in the number of radio listeners is related to the increase in the number of people over fifty years of age. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that, people, being exposed to so many forms of entertainment, lost interest in radio programs, and so, they stopped listening. It is also possible, that alternative sources of rock-and-roll like Youtube, Vimeo, etc are available and more convenient in the city than listening to the radio. So, people are using those alternative sources instead of listening to the radio. If any of the aforementioned has any merit, the author's argument regarding the decreased number of listeners because of the increased number of people over fifty does not hold water.

Secondly, the author is assuming that the decline in recorded music is related to people not liking rock-and-roll anymore. However, people may not buy recorded music from the stores because they have found an alternative and more convenient market place for such need. It may be the case, that people are using an online market place like Apple Music Store, Google Play Music, etc to buy recorded music. It is also possible that, music sales declined because the stores are not up-to-date with current rock-and-roll. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author's contention that decreased recorded music sales means decreased popularity for rock-and-roll becomes unpersuasive.

Lastly, even if it is true that, over fifty years old people do not like rock-and-roll which leads to decrease in the number of radio listeners and decline in sales of recorded music indicates decline in popularity of rock-and-roll, the author's assumption that, switch from rock-and-roll to continuous news station will attract old listeners and secure KNOW's future may not be true. Perhaps, most of the people in consideration have become a loyal listener of another continuous news station. It is also possible, that these people do not like radio news but watch television news instead. The author needs to provide evidence that, the neighboring city's people and current city's people are similar in taste, and the current city's people are not loyal to another continuous new radio station to substantiate his argument. Otherwise, his assertion becomes invalid.

In conclusion, it is entirely possible that the author's argument is valid and shifting from rock-and-roll to a continuous news format will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future. However, as it stands now, the author's argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence on three fronts: the decrease in number of listeners is related to the dramatic increase of older people, decreased sales of recorded music are related to people not appreciating rock-and-roll, and continuous news stations in neighboring cities is a valid indicator that such new stations will succeed in the city in consideration.