The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

In this memo, the general manager of KNOW radio station claims that the KNOW radio station has to its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format and these change can increase the number of listeners. To support her argument, she says that the most population of the station's listening area is over fifty and the overall number of listener has declined. Also, she cited reports from music stores in the listening area which indicate that sales have been decreased. And she says that another radio station in near city attract its listeners by broadcasting continuous news program. Careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical flaws.

To begin with, based on the fact that overall number of listeners, she wrongly assumes that the reason of the decreased number of listeners is the rock-and-roll music program. However, it could not be real reason of this phenomenon. Common sense tells us that the popularity of radio has been decreased after many other media such as cell-phone, TV, video flat form like YouTube, Twitch. As other media being popular, the number listeners of the station naturally decreased. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, she gives unrelated evidence which have no proper relation with her claims. The decreased sales of the local music stores could not related to the preference of the listeners. For example, there are many ways such as internet downloading people can listen to music rather than buying in music stores. And more and more people have used other ways. So, sales of music store could not be related to their preference. Until she give certain evidence about real and direct preference for music of people in the area, the evidence is not meaningful.

Thirdly, even if we admit other logical problems are true, there is another illogical presumption. Based on the fact that nearby radio station have gotten popularity, she wrongly assumes that the population of the listening area may have same preference for radio program. However, it could not be true. For example, the people of the listening area would like to listen classical music or traditional music rather than continuous news. If she cannot why she thinks preference for radio program of people of near city would be same with of the KNOW station's listening area, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the general manager of the KNOW radio station have to explain exact reason of the number of listeners of the station have decreased and have to give additional information about real preference of people. To evaluate better, we have to know the result of survey which shows the preference of radio program of the people in KNOW station's listening area is same with the preference of near city.