The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the group of developers in the prompt, A jazz club in the city of Monroe will be very profitable. However, the group based their conclusion on some assumptions, if not true, will drastically reduce effectiveness of their prediction. To understand and evaluate their prediction, they need to answer three questions related to their assumptions.

First of all, the group presumes that their proposed club C Note will have the market all to itself because the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away. However, this may not be the case. We need an answer to this question -- Who are the main customer of the local market? If the answer is that, the local market mostly comprises of local and dilettante jazz enthusiasts, who if possible will not travel 60 miles to attend a jazz club, then the group of developers argument is valid. But, if the local jazz market consists of mainly rich and highly educated jazz enthusiasts who have the means of easy travel, they may not simply attend a local new jazz club just because it is near. Rather, they would choose quality. If the local market mostly comprises of the later type customers, then the group of developers prediction will become very unpersuasive.

Second of all, the group presumes that jazz is popular in Monroe based on the evidence that over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well known jazz musicians live in Monroe and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly'. But this presumption may not hold water without answering the following questions -- where do the people who attended the jazz festival live? do the jazz musicians live in Monroe because of jazz's popularity? who are the primary audience of radio programs in Monroe? If these questions have answers like: the people who attended the summer festival do not live in Monroe, they went to Monroe to attend the festival, the jazz musicians are living in Monroe to take a break from their fans and live in the place where they can get some peace of mind away from popular media, and the primary audience of the main audience of radio programs in Monroe are the few jazz fans, then, the group of developers prediction seems unfounded at best, and specious at worst.

Lastly, the developers assume that the jazz fans in Monroe will spend a lot of money on jazz entertainment bases on the evidence provided by a national study. To evaluate this claim we need answer for the following question -- who were the main participants of the study? If the participants of the study were wealthy jazz enthusiasts who can afford to spend around $1000 on jazz per year, and the people of Monroe are not that enthusiastic or are not that solvent, then the developers' prediction does not hold water.

In conclusion, it is possible that opening a jazz club at Monroe will be profitable just like the developers' prediction. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on unfounded assumptions that beg at least three questions. Thus the developers need to provide additional evidence on those three fronts: who are the main customers in the local jazz market? is jazz really popular in Monroe? who were the primary participants of the study?