The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group

of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the

nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note,

would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over

100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz

musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,'

which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical

jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author predicts that a jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. The prediction is mainly base on that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away and over 10000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. Nevertheless, some specific proofs should be offered before the author proves the validity of his argument.

The author mentions that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away currently and infers that the C-Note would have the local market all to itself. Apparently, behind the inference lies the assumption that there would be no rivals in the local area. However, the lack of jazz club, in itself, fails to substantially prove the lack of rivals in the whole jazz market for the C-Note. In all likelihood, there are many night clubs in Monroe, where people can also enjoy jazz music since if people want to enjoy jazz somewhere, they do not need to go to jazz club. Besides, it is also probable that a myriad of cafes and restaurants may also employ the jazz bands to perform for their customers. Numerous potential rivals do exist, so it may be difficult for the C-Note to dominate the local market. Hence, some specific credence should be provided to validate the argument.

The author also demonstrates that over 100000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. Basing on the data, he deduces that the jazz music is extremely popular among the residents. Nonetheless, in absence of further evidences, the vague data cannot sufficiently prove that the inference is justifiable. First, it is entirely possible that 100000 people cannot represent a large number of people. Maybe the local population is several billion, which engender the 100000 people to be a small proportion of it. In addition, even though numerous people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival, it does not mean that they are all the residents of local area. Contrarily, the majority of them may be travelers. As a result, the local people may never show any interest in jazz music. Therefore, lacing the exact data of base mount and the proportion of local people, the argument cannot hold water.

On the basis that the jazz music is extremely popular and there are no rivals in the area, it is still hasty for the author to conclude that a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable. More specific proofs should be afforded to reinforce the conclusion. First, it is likely that people like to listen to the jazz music through radio program, or they prefer to buy jazz CD, nut they are reluctant to pay for the jazz club. Moreover, if the jazz performance in this club is terribly poor, it will not capture any zealots of jazz. Additionally, the profit is swayed by the revenue and expenditure, which means that the spending of the instruments, rent fee and the payment for the waiters and band should be taken into consideration, thus the profits may not be dramatic as expected. Under these scenarios, the conclusion is not convincing.

Overall, although the conclusion may be comprehensible, some specific proofs need to be released to better evaluate the argument. In that case, the argument and the conclusion will be more reasoning and convincing.