The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this application, a group of developers recommend to set up a new jazz club in Monroe. To support their claim, they cite that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. Additionally, a series of evidence are presented for the sake of proving popularity of jazz music in local. Moreover, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan would tend to spend much money on jazz entertainment per year. Quite convincing though this recommendation appears, a closer scrutiny reveals that it lacks of crucial evidence support and we need more evidence to evaluate such recommendation.

To start off, we need more evidence to verify whether a new-found jazz club could easily attract all local customers. While the nearest jazz club is still 65 miles away, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that people would like to continue with outside club for their entertainment. Thus, additional evidence would lend great credibility to determine whether the outside jazz club has conspicuous advantages than its distance weakness, such as an agreeable environment, better music equipment and support from famous musicians. If evidence show that outside jazz club surpass the new one, we would like to believe that people still prefer to go outside rather than new jazz club in Monroe and the developers' recommendation lose their weights; otherwise, a new jazz club is likely to gain its favor and developers' recommendation seems convincing.

Additionally, more evidence is required to show whether jazz music is extremely popular in Monroe. First of all, while the number of people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer appear astonishing at first glance, an accurate local attendance figure could lend greate support to evaluate the popularity of jazz music. In case that majority of attendances are acutally out-comers, we have no clues that jazz is really popular in local and thus developers' recommendation becomes untenable. Second, while several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, we don't know the reason why they choose to do so. If it turns out that they decide to live in Monroe, just out of an agreeable environment or cheaper house prices, or that they choose it as an ideal place for their retirement, which make them alienate from jazz, we're unconvinced of jazz's popularity in Monroe. Furthermore, the evaluation of their recommendation concerning the prevelance of jazz music in Monroe also entails with the competence of 'Jazz Nightly' not only during weeknights but also weekends. If evidence divulges that such radio program has dominant impact in Monroe regardless of time periods and its opponents, we are disposed to trust jazz's vogue in Monroe.

Last but not last, despite the presence of all aforementioned evidence, an accurate evaluation of developers' suggestion need additional information. Specific evidence is required to decide whether the nationwide study's result could apply for local situation in Monroe as well; that is to say, whether there exists a substantial number of people in local would like to patronize jazz club. If yes, the recommendation would be strengthened; otherwise, if people give high priority to and spend more money on jazz CD, concert, or other learnings than they offer to jazz club, it seems untenable for us to agree with developers' viewpoint.

In summary, the developers' cited evidence doesn't give sufficient support for their crucial reasoning in their recommendation. As a result, we need more evidence to better evaluate their recommendation.