The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the argument in the memorandum from the planning department of the electric power company, there is no need to build new generating plants since a recent surveys show increasing attention to save energy among home owners and a host of technology will help to increase energy efficiency. However, a number of assumptions have been made in the argument and we need further investigation to evaluate the soundness of the argument.

Fisrtly, it assumes that home onwers that care about conserving energy will use the newest home appliances which could be twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. However, there are other scenarios which need to be taken into account. Are people in the area willing to change their home appliances even if they are still functional? What about the appliances that are bought last year? Are they as energy efficient as the newest ones? If people are reluctant to buy new appliances, the argument that demand for electricity will not increase will be weakened.

Another assumption is that home onwers will use the new technologies to reduce the energy needed for home heating. However, there are other scenarios. Maybe the price to replace the old house heating system is too expensive to be put into practice for ordinary civiliants, or some people just do not want to make this change because they think it will cause too much time to do so. If these reasons result in people refusing to take new technologies to reduce the energy for home heating, the conclusion that the demand for electricity will decrease will not be sound.

while the author assumes that the three electric generating plants could generate as much energy as two decades ago, this assumption is unwarrented because things scarcely remain the same over time. There are likely all kinds of difference between now and two decades ago. For example, the equipments decay over time and now only part of them work well in the plants, hence the electricity productiveness deccline. Or maybe one of the plants use water power to generate electricity and the water level have decrease in the past twenty years, so the plant can not generate enough electricty to support the area.Without ruling out these posibilities, the arguement would be significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author needs to present more evidence to support the assumptions that have been explicitly or implicitly made in the argument to convince us construction of new generating plants will not be necessary. In its present form, the argument is not very strong.