The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase - and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the arguer concludes that they do not need more construction of new generating plants in operation to supply more electricity. To support this argument, the author points out that manufacturers are now marketing more energy efficient home appliances than those sold a decade ago. In addition, the arguer reasons that the new technologies of solar heating system are readily available reduce the energy needed for home heating. Finally, the author concludes that there is no need for new generating plants because the total demand for electricity will reduce and for the past twenty years their three electric generating plants always can meet their needs. This argument is flawed in three major aspects.

To begin with, the arguer falsely rests on the gratuitous assumption that using more energy efficient home appliances is the cause of the reduction of electricity. However, it cannot establish a general causal relationship between efficient appliances and reduction of electricity. Without ruling out other factors or presenting stronger evidence, the author cannot conclude that the use of energy-saving appliances will certainly lead to a reduction in electricity consumption. It's quite possible that people may use those home appliances more often just because they save more energy than older appliances. Thus, this causal relationship is untenable.

Secondly, the validity of the comparison is doubtful. The author compared new efficient technology with that of ten years ago which is absolutely unreasonable. Because the argument offers no evidence that would rule out interpretations such as this, the results are insufficient to support the author's conclusion.

Finally, we may give allowance to the belief that generally speaking passive solar heating system is available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. But this does not sufficiently assure that the same tendency applies to this area. What if the region does not have sunny weather all year round? Therefore, the author should provide more information about this situation.

In conclusion, the recommendation that there is no need for new electric generating plants is ill-founded. To strengthen this recommendation the author would have to demonstrate that whether to use energy-saving appliances will absolutely lead to less electricity, and provide more specific evidence about geographic information. All that has been shown so far is a correlation between these events