The following appeared in a memorandum from the vice-president of Gigantis, a development company that builds and leases retail store facilities.

“Nationwide over the past five years, sales have increased significantly at outlet stores that deal exclusively in reduced-price merchandise. Therefore, we should publicize the new mall that we are building at Pleasantville as a central location for outlet shopping and rent store space only to outlet companies. By taking advantage of the success of outlet stores, this plan should help ensure full occupancy of the mall and enable us to recover quickly the costs of building the mall.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

This excerpt from the memorandum, from the vice president of Gigantis, states that a plan to publicize a new mall and rent it out to outlet companies. The author supports this by stating that outlet store sales have significantly increased across the nation, thereby ensuring full occupancy of the mall and recovering the costs for the same. However, this assumption has a few serious flaws that the author fails to take into account.

The type of people and standard of living plays a vital role in any commercial sector. The author fails to address the type of crowd and in and around Pleasantville. There may be a possibility that the type of people coming to Pleasantville could be of the upper class and do not like to buy cut price merchandise. There could also be a scenario where even the cut price merchandise is expensive to the people coming to shop at the proposed outlet stores mall in Pleasantville, are lower on the economic scale. The results of the exclusion of these assumptions is that the outlet stores may initially rent out a spot in the mall, but due to lack of customers and sales, would eventually have to leave the mall, leading to a loss to Gigantis and failure to recover the costs.

The nationwide statistic mentioned by the author is a vague statement and may not even conform to the trends in Pleasantville. The data acquired by the cited statistic could be skewed and may be portraying a high rise in some areas in the nations whilst being low in the other, leading to a depiction of increasing sales. This marrs the author's assumption that the costs could be recovered as the author assumes that the retail stores would flourish due to the so called increasing sales, but in reality, the demand or trend of these outlet store merchandises could be significantly lower in Pleasantville. Also, the statistic mentions the last 5 years. This too is a vague statement as the trend could be increasing over the last four years and may have majorly dipped in the last year.

Hence the statement as it stands is flawed because the author has not taken into consideration the tangible concepts of standard of living, a study of the trend with reference to Pleasantville. The author would benefit more from a detailed analysis of the type of people and previous year sales in the particular region rather than a vague statistic of the last five years. It would help to make the plan of the mall a success and may even yield profits after recovering the costs incurred to build the mall.