The following appeared as part of an article in a popular science magazine.

Scientists must typically work 60 to 80 hours a week if they hope to further their careers; consequently, good and affordable all day child care must be made available to both male and female scientists if they are to advance in their fields. Moreover, requirements for career advancement must be made more flexible so that preschool-age children can spend a significant portion of each day with a parent."

The author of an excerpt presented in the popular magazine states that scientists should be provided with reasonable and good daycare for their children and younger must be able to spend a good chunk of their day with a parent. This article brings to light the need for scientists to focus on their research and at the same time, be able to spend time with their family equally. However, this argument poses a few flaws in its reasoning to validate its claims.

Science consists of a wide array of sectors and does not conform to the notion of people in white lab coats anymore. The author fails to take into specification the type of scientists they are referring to. A 'traditional' scientist, who is working on a research project may need to heavily invest a large amount of time for the same. However, a 'Computer' Scientist does not have the same kind of load and can perhaps even work remotely from the comfort of their homes, surrounded by family. Additionally, the statistics for the number of scientists working longer hours and how many of them are parents, has not been provided. If this is true, this leads to skewed metrics in which a computer scientist, who does not probably need the concessions listed in the article, may be given the services and a traditional scientist in need of it may not be able to get it due to probable lack of funds.

Any work, done mindlessly or perfunctorily over longer periods of time leads to a dip in the overall productivity and ultimately the efficacy of the results achieved. Scientists working for these amount of prolonged hours for a longer periods of time would usually be burnt out. The author has also failed to consider the fact the it is not always that quantity matters, but quality does too. Moreover, traditional scientists usually work in a team for research purposes. The work could be divided and the scientists could be judged over the quality of their work over the quantity. If true, this could drastically reduce the work hours and hence enable the scientists to spend more time with their families and children.

A vital point missing from the article is the statistic that how many of the families that have such scientists have both working parents? If one of the parent is a homemaker, the need for affordable childcare is eliminated as at least one parent is present to tend to the child.

Hence, the argument as it stands is flawed due to the lack of statistics and finer details of what type of scientists does this policy conform to. If the author would be able to provide a clearer picture of the numbers and consider the above stated nuances, the argument would definitely hold water and could be implemented in the future