‘In some companies, employees are allowed to express their feelings and opinions about the company by sending electronic messages to everyone in the company. In other companies, this type of communication is strictly prohibited.’

What restrictions, if any, do you think companies should place on employees’ electronic communications? Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations, or reading.

Communication is the basic need of any human being, being able to express their thoughts. It is a necessary measure for cohesion of any organisation, be it micro or macro. The concept of communication however, is a two sided coin and can be implemented positively or negatively. The statement provided displays a classic example of the same in the form of communication in a work environment. Restricting a mode of communication would seem like a harsh measure for any employee in a company, but it is a necessary measure to ensure a smoother and more streamlined functioning of an office

If companies are inclined to allow employees to send electronic message communication to express their feelings, the admins should monitor the type of content being circulated through these company wide messages. Consider a hypothetical instance, where a person expresses their disapproval against a decision taken by the company to implement a and highlighting the image of the company in a negative way, just because the employee feels that way. Now this could be a comment with constructive criticism and could help the company improve on their decision making process as a whole. But given the negative connotation applied to it, it could lead to a negative opinion to be formed against the company. So the company should place a restriction, stating that instead of sending a company wide message, the employee could discuss this problem with their respective team leaders and the team leaders in turn could help rectify this at a grassroot level.

The public image of any company is one of the vital factors of the popularity and social standing of the company. This, however, could be seriously damaged by the unmoderated opinions of the employees. For instance, an employee does not receive his salary on the decided date and he decides to diatribe against the company by expressing his opinions by electronic messages whilst using unparliamentary language. This has serious repercussions on the company's image and leads to an image of instability of the company. Restrictions on such behaviour by declaring to use formal and proper language to address anything about the company can moderate this situation.

Hence, restrictions are important in any form of communication as it provides a medium to the employees to express their feelings about the company and at the same time, maintaining the required discipline and formality required for functioning of any organisation.