The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chair of the music department to the president of Omega University. “Mental health experts have observed that symptoms of mental illness are less pronounced in many patients after group music-therapy sessions, and job openings in the music-therapy field have increased during the past year. Consequently, graduates from our degree program for music therapists should have no trouble finding good positions. To help improve the financial status of Omega University, we should therefore expand our music-therapy degree program by increasing its enrollment targets.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The memorandum written by the chair of the music department to the president of Omega University states that according to the Mental Health experts symptoms of mental illness are less pronounced in patients after group music-therapy sessions thereby increasing job openings during the past year. The president then makes an intriguing assumption stating that the graduates from the degree program should not have any trouble finding new jobs as result of increase in job openings. Finally the memorandum concludes by stating that the Omega University should therefore expand their music-therapy degree program by increasing enrollment targets. However, the extent of mental health experts findings needs to be analyzed along with the given assumptions from the Omega University's President to formalize the stated conclusion.

Mental health awareness is an elephant in the room that people tend to ignore at times. It is very important that we address the issue with concern and find a way to mitigate it. The argument states that experts have suggested a decrease in symptoms of mental illness in patients after group music-therapy sessions which in turn increased the job openings in the music-therapy fields during the past year. However, we need to evaluate the extent of the survey conducted by the University and the mental health experts. If the survey is to be considered true then the increase in number of job openings sounds plausible. But, there is a possibility that the observations of these experts regarding such findings are temporary, meaning increase in enrollment is also temporary. Then the university's claim that graduates from the degree program should not have any trouble finding good positions is also temporary and not beneficial in the long run for its students.

The argument supports the claim by adding that expanding the music-therapy degree programs would help them increase more enrollments ultimately benefiting its students. However, the university fails to substantiate data that would support the above mentioned argument. It is essential to understand the extent of such music-therapy programs offered by the university to conclude that its graduate students will not have any trouble finding good positions. The argument does not provide enough statistics to strengthen the arguments claim that the university is a good option for any student seeking to enroll for music-therapy degree program.

In conclusion, the memorandum does not provide enough data and statistics that would support the mental health experts findings and increase in enrollment of music-therapy degree programs. The argument fails to substantiate the conclusion stated by the president of the university with details strengthening the argument and its assumption.