The following appeared in the opinion column of a financial magazine.

"On average, middle-aged consumers devote 39 percent of their retail expenditure to department store products and services, while for younger consumers the average is only 25 percent. Since the number of middle-aged people will increase dramatically within the next decade, department stores can expect retail sales to increase significantly during that period. Furthermore, to take advantage of the trend, these stores should begin to replace some of those products intended to attract the younger consumer with products intended to attract the middle-aged consumer."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument stating the number of middle-aged people will increase dramatically within the next decade, department stores can expect retail sales to increase significantly adding that these stores should begin to replace some of their products with the intention of attracting middle-aged consumer can be cogently agreed upon but to a certain extent only. A statistical data has been provided to support the given argument which makes an intriguing revelation about the different types of consumers engaging in different kinds of products the store has to offer.

The statistical data states middle-aged consumers devote more of their expenditure on store products and services in comparison to younger consumers. If the given data is to be considered true then the deriving conclusion is valid, however, If it is not then this could result in quite the opposite of what the store expects in future. The data fails to provide sufficient context regarding the survey which was conducted to strengthen the argument and its conclusion. It doesn't have the exact number of different consumers that might have been surveyed which makes the conclusion plausible but false. The acks consistency in the context that the total expenditure of the consumers could be as high as possible and very low at the same time. This could result into faulty reasoning and conclusion.

The argument suggests that number of middle-aged consumers is likely to increase in the next decade, concluding department stores can expect retail sales to increase significantly during that period. This conclusion extends to support the claim that stores should begin replacing some of the products to attract middle-aged consumers. If the fact is to be taken as true, the store can expect an increase in their profits with more middle-aged customers engaging in their stores. However if this is to be taken as false, then store can expect a decline in their profits for the next decade. The fact the middle-aged population is going to increase fails to substantiate that there will be a subsequent increase in consumer expenditure. It doesn't take into account the total population which was considered. Maybe only a certain demographical area was surveyed for the conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument engages with that provided statistical data concluding that revenue of stores will increase in the coming decade. However, it fails to substantiate the data that can be relied upon.