“Manufacturers are responsible for ensuring that their products are safe. If a product injures someone, for whatever reason, the manufacturer should be held legally and financially accountable for the injury.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations, or reading.

The statement stating that the Manufacturers are responsible for ensuring that their products are safe and if a product injures someone, for whatever reason, the manufacturer should be held legally and financially accountable for the injury can be agreed upon. Industrialists and its manufacturers produce goods and products that the public use for various purposes. They have a responsibility of producing products that are safe and can be used by anybody. However, the manufacturers should design the products in such a way that these products do not pose or influence any injury that could be harmful.

There have been many products worldwide that had serious manufacturing flaws leading to injuries and critical problems. One such example is the smartphone producer billion-dollar company Samsung, whose S8 smartphone device had a manufacturing defect in its lithium-ion battery. The smartphone had various complaints from its users worldwide stating that the smartphone constantly gets heated and, in some cases there were even reportings of the smartphone exploding. In response to these complaints, the company reinspected the design and manufacturing of the S8 device and then released a more stable new version of the Samsung S8 in the market. Thus, we should ensure that in such cases the products that we use are completely safe and at the same time the manufacturers have to also take the responsibility of being held accountable like the billion-dollar company Samsung if there are some major flaws in the product's design.

A faulty device or any product is not just the only thing that people should be wary about but, using anything cautiously and ethically is very important. Many times people tend to overlook the deleterious effects of some products that they might have and end up harming themselves. In such situations, the manufacturers cannot be held accountable because of our carelessness. We should understand the extent of using these products before getting too friendly.

In conclusion, if a product is having a manufacturing flaw that poses a serious threat to the surroundings, then the manufacturer has to be held accountable for these situations financially as well as legally. Also, as a consumer, it is our responsibility to understand the extent of using such products so that they do not cause any serious harm and are completely healthy.