The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo West Egg's mayor reasons that West Egg's residents are now strongly committed to recycling,and projects that the city's landfill will not be filled to capacity until considerably later than anticipated two years ago.To support this projection the mayor cites (1) a twofold increase in aluminum and paper recycling by West Egg residents over the last two years,(2) a.n impending twofold increase in charges for trash pickup,and (3) a recent survey in which 90%of respondents indicated that they intend to do more recycling in the future. For several reasons, I am not convinced that the mayor's projection is accurate.

To begin with,in all likelihood aluminum and paper account for only some of the materialsWest Egg's residents can recycle.Perhaps recycling of other recyclable materials- such as plastic and glass- has declined to the point that the total amount of recycled materials has also declined. If so, then the mayor could hardly justify the claim that West Egg's residents are becoming more committed to recycling.

Another problem with the argument is that an increase in the amount of recycled materials does not necessarily indicate a decrease in the total amount of trash deposited in the city's landfill. Admittedly, if West Egg residents previously disposed of certain recyclable materials that they now recycle instead, then this shift from disposal to recycling would serve to reduce the amount of trash going to the landfill. However,the mayor provides no evidence of such a shift.

Moreover,the argument overlooks the strong possibility that the recycling habits of West Egg residents are not the only factor affecting how quickly the landfill will reach capacity.Other such factors might include population and demographic shifts, the habits of people from outsideWest Egg whose trash also feeds the landfill,and the availability of alternative disposal methods such as burning.Thus, regardless of the recycling efforts of West Egg residents the landfill might nevertheless reach full capacity by the date originally forecast.

Yet another problem with the argument involves the mayor's implicit claim that increased charges for trash pickup will serve to slow the rate at which the landfill is reaching capacity.This claim relies on the unlikely assumption that West Egg residents have the option of recycling- or disposing in some other way- much of what they would otherwise send to the landfill.However,it is likely these residents have no practical choice but to send some refuse to the landfill.The greater the amount, the less likely higher trash charges would have any effect on how quickly the landfill reaches capacity.

Finally,the mayor provides no evidence that the survey's respondents are representative of the overall group of people whose trash goes to the city's landfill.Lacking such evidence,it is entirely possible that people inclined to recycle were more will- ing to respond to the survey than other people were. In short, without better evidence that the survey is statistically reliable the mayor cannot rely on it to draw any firm conclusions about the overall recycling commitment of West Egg residents- let alone about how quickly the landfill will reach capacity.

In sum,the mayor's projection is simply not credible,at least based on the memo. Rather than relying solely on questionable recycling statistics,the mayor should provide direct evidence that the amount of trash going to the landfill is declining and

that this trend will not reverse itself anytime soon.To better assess the accuracy of the mayor's projection it would be useful to know who besidesWest Egg residents contributes trash to the landfill,and whether the amount of trash those people contribute is declining or is likely to decline in the near future.