The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice among the parents for their children who are willing to pursue music. In building up to his claim, the author makes a lot of stated and unstated assumptions, which prove unwarranted in most cases, implying that the argument should be evaluated on the grounds of evidences before it to have any persuasiveness and credibility.

Firstly, the mere welcoming nature of the school to all age and ability groups, even that too without audition, doesn't warrant that the parents would be leaning towards the school as their first choice music school for their children. It may be possible that the parents may, rather, be tempted towards thinking other schools that provide limited scholarships or admits as the "Elite schools" and not the ones that are welcoming to all kinds of students, regardless of age and abilities. The parents may, instead, take these schools for granted because of no competition or whatsoever.

Secondly, the author's claim that the availability of a wide range of styles and genres would make the school the first-choice, which is again flawed. There is always a possibility, even in the strictest sense, that the quality of the education being offered at the school is being compromised because of the variety of genres and styles being offered. A school with just a few genres and styles would be more tempting to the parents whose children are aiming for a specific genre or style. For example, for a parent, whose child is willing to pursue Reggae style would be inclined to a music school which offers just this, rather than a school with a variety of choices.

Thirdly, the mere fact that the graduates of this school are, in general, successful in the professional arena doesn't warrant that the students whoever gets enrolled in the school will be successful in the future. Again, this piece of evidence doesn't confirm that the school is offering a quality education. For parents who are seeking for good quality education and are not influenced by just these, maybe, institution-hyped facts, these do not amount to any persuasion to them.

To sum up, the argument presented above is rife with assumptions. The assumptions, stated or unstated, do not contribute much to the persuasiveness of the claim made by the author. Unless these assumptions are warranted, the argument made by the author that The Mozart School of Music should be the first-choice school for parents just lacks meat.